News | June 9, 2003

Hospitality Industry to Honor Macy's with 10th Annual Tourism Achievement Award

NEW YORK, NY (June 9, 2003) The Tenth Annual Frank W. Berkman Tourism Achievement Awards Dinner on June 26 at The Plaza Hotel will bring together members of the hospitality, travel and tourism industries to honor Macy's for all that the company has done to promote tourism to New York City.

The Big Apple Chapter of the Hospitality Sales & Marketing Association International (HSMAI) selected Macy's to be the recipient of the 10th annual Frank W. Berkman Tourism Achievement Award for several reasons, according to Kathie Stapleton, Executive Director of the Chapter.

Stapleton says: "For 76 years, The Thanksgiving Day Parade has kicked-off the holiday season in New York City and the nation. The national coverage of the parade focuses viewers on New York City and all it has to offer. The parade itself generates millions of dollars in revenue for hotels, restaurants, theatres and stores.

"Macy's has also created another tradition in New York with the Fourth of July Fireworks display. This summer extravaganza brings thousands of tourists to New York City.

"In the aftermath of September 11, 2001, Macy's has been a beacon of hope for a battered city. The Thanksgiving Day Parade and the Fourth of July Fireworks stand as a testament to the resiliency of the soul and spirit of New York City. For all of these reasons, we are honored to have Macy's as the 10th recipient of the Frank W. Berkman Tourism Achievement Award."

The black-tie awards dinner will be held on Thursday, June 26, 2003 at The Plaza Hotel. There is a reception beginning at 6 p.m. followed by the awards presentation and dinner dance.

This award was created in 1994 to recognize those individuals or organizations that have made a significant contribution to the travel and tourism industry in New York City. The award was named for Frank W. Berkman who, for 16 years, was the Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer of HSMAI.

Previous recipients of the award include:
1994 Charles Gillett, Chairman of the New York Convention & Visitors Bureau
1995 Bob Tisch, Chairman of the Board for Loews Hotels
1996 Arthur Surin, Senior Vice President of Hilton Hotels Corporation
1997 Mayor Rudolph Giuliani
1998 Donald Trump
1999 The Today Show
2000 The League of American Theatres & Producers
2001 Starwood Hotels
2002 NYC Police, NYC Fire Department, EMS & Port Authority Police

In addition, presentation of the General Manager of the Year and the Sales and Marketing Manager of the Year awards will be made. The three finalists were announced at the chapter's June 5th luncheon meeting and include:

General Managers:
Geoffrey Mills – The Melrose Hotel, NYC
Nasser Samman – The Garden City Hotel, Garden City, NY
Thomas Travers – Hotel Beacon, NYC

Sales & Marketing Executives:
Rose Genovese, CHME, Affinia Hospitality, NYC
Daren Kingi – NYC Marriott Hotels
Lucille Yokell, CHME – The Wellington, NYC

For more information, contact Kathie Stapleton, Executive Director, HSMAI Big Apple Chapter 914-762-1456.